Skip to main content
Full name
Leo Damrosch
Born September 14, 1941

Leo Damrosch is an American author and professor, specialised in Romanticism, the Enlightenment, and Puritanism. He received his B.A. from Yale, his M.A. from Cambridge and his Ph.D. from Princeton.

Damrosch has written several critically acclaimed books, including The Sorrows of the Quaker Jesus about the early history of the Society of Friends (Quakers), and his 2005 Jean-Jacques Rosseau: Restless Genius was a National Book Award finalist.  In 2013 he won the National Book Critics Award (non-fiction) for Jonathan Swift.

Boswellian impact

Damrosch's latest book, The Club: Johnson, Boswell, and the Friends Who Shaped an Age, was released on March 26, 2019. It is available from Amazon.

Books by author

The site contains further information about the following books authored or edited by Leo Damrosch: